The New New Year’s Resolution

As 2010 approaches, like everyone else I am taking a look at what I have accomplished in the past year and what I hope to accomplish in the upcoming year. Each year I make resolutions and set goals with an optimistic fervor, which are then for the most part forgotten by late January. This year I had given up on resolutions completely – until I found this post by Amber Naslund on how to create measurable objectives.

It got me thinking. In advertising, I work with companies to set goals and map out strategies to achieve those goals on a regular basis. Yet somehow, I am unable to do this in my personal life (at least when it comes to resolutions). Why? Well, like with many failed strategies, I don’t give myself a clear path to action.

In the article, Amber calls to our attention that we must go beyond creating general goals or visions for the future. Setting a goal to increase brand awareness through the United States is great, but it’s really just a starting point. In order to succeed, we have to create measurable objectives, outline strategies and monitor our progress through established metrics.

So, sure, you can make a New Year’s resolution to get into shape – but what does that mean really? Is getting in shape losing 20 pounds? Is it being able to run a marathon? Or is it just being able to run up the stairs without loosing your breath?

A co-worker recently sent me this statistic: Only 10% of the population has specific, well-defined goals, but even then, seven out of the ten of those people reach their goals only ½ the time. To give ourselves a fighting chance, we have to forget about lofty resolutions and embrace the nitty-gritty – objectives. Goal-setting research suggests that specific, difficult goals lead to higher levels of performance than easy goals or vague goals.

This year I am abandoning resolutions and creating a plan, complete with goals, objectives, strategies, tactics and metrics. It may be a little more complicated than your standard New Year’s Eve promise, but I think I will find my results to be a little more than standard as well.

2 responses to “The New New Year’s Resolution

  1. Amanda,

    Rock on! And you know what? I’m guilty of it, too. For as sound as my planning usually is for business, I slack when it comes to setting the same kind of concrete objectives for my personal life. But not this year! I have three goals. Only three. But they’re clear as daylight and I know what it’s going to take to get there. That ought to help immensely.

    Best of luck to you in 2010. Can’t wait to hear how you make out, and thanks so much for reading.

    Amber

    • Thanks for the inspiration Amber – looking forward to more of your genius in 2010! Good luck with your goals as well,

      Amanda

Leave a Reply

